The Steam Awards 2022 - Your personal nominations?

Urdnot_Wrex

Innkeeper
Staff member
https://store.steampowered.com/SteamAwards

Have you nominated or are you going to nominate any games for the Steam Awards this year? I have never done it before, first because I didn't know about it, then because I had never played games that were released the same year.

Categories:
- Game Of The Year
- VR Game Of The Year
- Labor Of Love
- Better With friends
- Outstanding Visual Style
- Most Innovative Gameplay
- Best Game You Suck At
- Best Soundtrack
- Outstanding Story-Rich Games
- Sit Back And Relax
- Best Game On The Go

I was thinking if I should nominate something or not, because I have played 2 games only that were released in 2022, and the demo of a third one. But not having played the "big names" like Elden Ring, Horizon Forbidden West etc doesn't mean I should be embarrassed to express my opinions. A lot of people just vote for big names without having much to compare to either, or maybe even without having played them.

The 2022 releases I own are Metal: Hellsinger and Stray, and I have played the Gamescom demo of Pentiment.

Metal:Hellsinger deserves to be acknowledged for more than just Best Soundtrack, but it's not possible to nominate the same game for more than one category. It won't stand a chance against the big titles for Game of the Year anyway, even if it would be my choice from the ones I've played and the ones I've heard and watched stuff about. But in that case I'd have to pick another game for Best Soundtrack, which I couldn't possibly do with a clear conscience. It's also the category where it stands the most realistic chances.

I have nominated Pentiment for Outstanding Visual Style. That doesn't mean most stunningly realistic graphics, but a unique, captivating style that creates a certain atmosphere, and I'd say that's definitely the case with Pentiment's very particular woodcut style and the different scripts.