Playing Persona 5 for the first time

Chronicler

Habitué
Decided to make this thread to talk about my thoughts as I play through Persona 5. This is my first time so I won't be able to make this a proper tour of the game, but I'm pretty excited and I think there'll be a lot to talk about, so I think it's worth a shot.

Gonna start by copying my comment from another thread here.

Bought Persona 5 for Switch. I'm an hour and a half into it and having a super good time. Haven't jived with a game like this since maybe highschool.

The story isn't afraid to get theatrical in flamboyant ways. I feel like a lot of modern games are all muted colours and stoic leads and stuff, where these Phantom Thieves seem to be intentionally incorporating showmanship into their heists and a villain just showed up wearing nothing but a King's Cape and Crown.

The Battle system is classic Turn Based fair, with mechanics based around figuring out the enemy's weakness and then capitalizing on it. But it looks like it probably gets pretty involved as it goes on. Right off the bat I'm noticing they're giving me weird elements like "curse" and some attacks cast from my hitpoints.

It's... surprisingly adult? Not necessarily in the sense that it seems emotionally mature or anything but there's been a lot of swears and a sexual assault scene and the game's barely started.

The map is kind of hard to navigate. It feels very much like a real modern city. I had to get off the subway just to transfer to another subway. My immediate reaction is that the verisimilitude is actually a little off putting but maybe as I spend more time in the setting it'll grow on me.

So, additional thoughts. This thing has a very anti-establishment theme. I've heard that the Persona Games all sort of start that way but tend to end with the characters all integrating into society properly, so I'm being careful not to expect to much there.